Sea Legs

About a year ago I ventured into the ocean of Weight Control, and did quite well.  I got down into the upper 180’s, but then got content and allowed my old dietary habits to be resurrected, and here I am today – plump and desperate.  It didn’t seem all that tough to get into a rhythm of eating well, staying active and seeing some results.

This is not true one year later.  I am finding it very difficult to return to the patterns of a year ago.  I know what I need to do, but my well-trained appetites are not easily domesticated.  And so you know why I’ve had little to share for the last few weeks.

Slowly, I’m trying to get my “sea legs” as I head back out to the ocean of Weight Control.  The activity factor is not too tough.  I like to do racquetball, walk, etc.  The schedule factor is a little trickier in that regard.  The real struggle is the awkward moment in which I want “just a little something” to curb my hunger.  Funny how iced fudge brownies seem so much more appealing than a rice cake.

One thing I’m pretty sure of – eating less is not an option.  I will not go through the continual agony of being hungry, because this urge will NEVER subside.  I have been hungry since I was weaned.  I must learn what to eat when I am hungry.

Last year’s strategy of laying off the carbs (especially white bread, chips, crackers, etc.) and watching the fatty stuff worked very well for me.  I just try to eat healthy and lean.  A lot more fresh fruit (even though most fruit is carb-heavy, the fiber seems to be a good trade off for me), fresh veggies, and lean protein.  I don’t get too wound up about fat if it is natural (in meat, eggs, cheese, my waistline, and the like).

I am getting hungrier as I type this.  Got any great recipes that won’t push me farther out to sea (like a whale being de-beached)?

2 responses to “Sea Legs

  1. Hi, I realise this post is three years old, but how did you go with your weight loss? I’d be interested to hear.

  2. Hi Peter,

    Considering the fact that I forgot I had even started this blog probably tells you how it has gone. I have likely gained weight since that post. As I respond I am sitting at Panera wolfing down a bacon, egg & cheese bagel sandwich (whole grain – does that offset?).

    I will consider your response a calling. Time to get back to what I know I need to do. Perhaps you, unknowingly, have revived the Blob Blog. . .

Leave a comment