Mercy

I had mercy on the bathroom scale this morning.  Tomorrow I will unleash the scalefull fury of my mass upon it.  I am confident that today’s restraint will always be rewarded by tomorrow’s scale reading.

Because it is Sunday, as is my custom, I left the house at about 6:15 and didn’t have anything to eat until the coffee/donut time at church.  I made some hot tea in my office, then meandered downstairs to the place where the donuts live.  I ate half of a glazed donut and two of those bite-sized (who determines “bite-sized” anyway?) powdered donuts.  Then, lest I become permanently attached to the donut tray, I returned to my office to fill up on the banana I had on my desk.

For lunch Jana and Charles made spaghetti and fresh dinner rolls.  Before the meal I nibbled on some celery with some peanut butter.  By “some” peanut butter I mean no more than can be comfortably nestled in the groove of the celery stalk.  I then had a modest helping of spaghetti and two dinner rolls.  And then I had another dinner roll which I labeled “dessert” to quench my guilt.

Before the evening church service I had an apple.  After the evening church service I had another dinner roll as an appetizer, a piece of whole grain bread and butter (can you tell bread is my weakness?), a big bowl of cabbage and turkey soup, and a Yoplait Strawberry Smoothie (fat free and 90 calories).  I am sufficiently full now and plan on no more indulgences.

Tomorrow morning I plan to step up my activity.  Racquetball in the early morning for 90 minutes or so will re-engage me in my exercise routine.  This is a drastic improvement over yesterday’s physical activity level.  I never left home yesterday, venturing only as far as the mailbox two times.  I did, however, go up and down the basement steps a multitude of times, never stopping in the middle of my journey either up or down the staircase.

C’mon blobbers!  Tell me your story!

3 responses to “Mercy

  1. I ate healthy yesterday without the donuts, rolls (although I have enough on my body to make up for it) or pasta.

    I in hopes of another miracle have been eating healthy since the day after Christmas but have yet to see any of my clothes fit better. I don’t get on the scale because I don’t think my heart or circulatory system can take it. Of course Jana is always asking me when the last time was that I weighed and I keep telling her last year, last year!!

    We walked for almost 5 miles yesterday, which seemed like 25 when I was finished. How can I eat the way I do, exercise the way i do and still be as FAT as I am???????

    If any other person in the whole world had to live on what I eat, they would be admitted to a hospital for malnutrition.

    My goal is to get on the scale at the end of January and face the music!

    They knew what they were doing when they invented drive-in movies. You don’t have to sit in those miniscule little seats and you can eat what you want without people looking at you.

  2. Deb & Andy Tromsness

    Heh, fellow blobbers,
    I rode my bike a whole mile today before I was interrupted by the telephone you know (saved by the bell?) Andy said he figured out today that he has no self control. I don’t either, I suppose. Oh well, still trying to crawl about the blob boat!

  3. I’ve been hitting the gym pretty regularly but last night did me in. I went back to Power Sculpt class for the first time in three weeks. When did they swap out my 10 lb. weights with 30 lb. ones? As I was sweating profusely and my head was pounding, I looked up and was eye to eye with a little anorexic waif that was less than half my age AND my weight. What the heck was she doing there???? As if her size two body and matching work-out clothes weren’t enough, she had on a midriff. There’s no justice in this world.

Leave a comment