Withering Away

With great trepidation I stepped onto the scale in our bedroom this morning.  And what to my wondering eyes did appear, but the number 202 looking back at me.  A two-pound loss since yesterday?  Don’t get excited.  I’ve seen this fluctuation before.  I could go for week on a banana-celery-diet Pepsi regimen and gain 12 pounds.

Today I had no breakfast.  A perfect excuse for violating every dietary rule for the remaining hours of the day.  I had a piece and a half of lasagna for lunch with a salad.  A few pieces of chocolate throughout the afternoon (a few meaning anywhere from 2 to 27).  And tonight our family raided a local Mexican restaurant which we frequently frequent.  It was an obligatory visit.  I got a gift certificate for Christmas to the place.  What could I do?  Eat.

I had what I always have there – chicken fajitas.  They were, as always, amazing.  Had chips, salsa and cheese dip too.  No dessert.

Due to the random nature of the universe, I’ll probably drop 3 pounds by morning.  Either way, my stomach is happy.  The scale may not be so lucky.

Leave a comment